Oak (Y1) – Pathfinders

Teacher: Mrs Kerrison

Curriculum Overview

Teaching and learning in Year 1 at Swanton Morley VC Primary School follows the National Curriculum programme of study for Key Stage 1. Further information about the National Curriculum in Key Stage 1 can be found on the Department for Education website.

The majority of subject learning in year one is taught in cross-curricular themes through our ‘Learning Means The World’ curriculum’ (LMTW).  Year one follow the ‘Pathfinders 1’ journey through the 4Cs that this globally-focused curriculum is built around, the key themes being: Conflict, Communication, Culture and Conservation.

Some subjects however, although incorporated in bredth of this curriculum, are taught individually to ensure complete coverage of the National Curriculum.  These subjects are Maths, English, Religious Education (RE), Physical education (PE) and Modern Foreign Languages (MFL).










The ‘what I should know’ (WHISK) sheets for each of this year’s ‘Learning Means The World’ themes for Y1 are listed below.  Each PDF contains a summary overview of what we will be studying.

Happily Ever After | Never Eat Shredded Wheat | Unity in the Community

Come Fly With Me! (Arctic) | Powhatan People | Light Up the World | Royal Patrons


Timetable 2021-2022

Below is the class timetable in PDF format: